Sticky Sesame Cauliflower

Hello everyone. I’m not able to post as often as I wish because of some health issues. I do miss it though.

I love Sticky Cauliflower but the original recipe has a lot of oil. This one requires less oil and the cauliflower is baked without compromising on the flavour. I used a mixture of breadcrumbs and panko breadcrumbs and they tasted great. The soda gives the batter a very light texture. It’s not very time consuming either. You can prepare the sauce while the florets are baking. I reserved some of the sauce and spooned it over the steamed vegetables while serving.

I used broccoli and carrots to garnish but you can use whatever vegetables you have. A healthy alternative and one that the whole family will enjoy. Do give it a try.

IMG_20210414_133829_258-01

PREP: 40 minutes COOK TIME: 25-30 minutes Serves: 4

Ingredients

For the crumb mixture:

1 cup dry breadcrumbs

3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs

2 tbsp flour

1 tsp cumin powder

1/2 tsp pepper powder

1/2 tsp red chilli powder

1 tsp salt

For the batter:

1 cup flour

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp fennel powder

!/2 tsp red chilli powder

1 bottle soda/sparkling water

Salt and pepper to taste

For the sauce:

1/4 cup orange juice

1/4 cup sweet chilli sauce

1/4 cup vegetarian oyster sauce

2 tbsp sesame oil

1 tsp soy sauce

2 tsp sriracha sauce

2 tsp vinegar

1 large cauliflower, broken into florets

3 tbsp olive oil

Thinly sliced green onions, grated orange zest and lightly toasted sesame seeds

Steamed broccoli and carrots

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 200C. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine all the ingredients for the crumb mixture and mix well. Set aside.

Combine all the ingredients for the batter. Use just enough soda to obtain a thick batter for dipping the florets. It should coat the florets but should not be too thick or too thin. Dip the cauliflower in the batter and then in the breadcrumb mixture. Repeat for all the florets and place them on the baking sheet. Drizzle some olive oil over them and toss to coat. Bake for 25-30 minutes until the cauliflower is tender and golden brown. Turn the florets midway if necessary.

Meanwhile, combine all the ingredients for the sauce in a small pan and cook over low heat until just warmed, about 5 minutes. Transfer the florets to a large bowl and spoon about three-fourths of the sauce over them. Toss gently to coat them well.

Serve the florets on a large platter with the steamed vegetables of your choice. Sprinkle the orange zest, green onions and sesame seeds on top.

10 thoughts on “Sticky Sesame Cauliflower

  1. This looks and reads wonderfully well. Alas, I don’t have many of the ingredients needed, including the cauliflower! Saving it for later.
    PS – Any chance of getting the house next to yours? πŸ˜€

    • Hi Jaya. Thank you for your lovely comment. As always, I enjoy hearing from you. You know my mother’s name is also Jaya. πŸ™‚

      I certainly hope you do get all the ingredients and try out this recipe. I can certainly look out for a house near mine, if you’re really serious. πŸ˜€

      Seriously, if you’re in Chennai, I invite you to a home cooked meal and we can catch up. I hope you’re staying indoors. Take care. Love, Padma

  2. Hi Padma!
    Honoured to share your amma’s name!

    I learn so many new things from your posts. And I would love that meal! I’ll take you up on it, hopefully in the near future.
    For the present, all of us locked up at home. But this time I don’t mind being shut in because my daughter’s here. πŸ˜€

    • I’m really happy to know that you gain some insights from my blog. I certainly hope this situation improves. I’m terrified there might be a third wave.
      It’s the same everywhere. People are scared to go out. I’m glad you have your daughter with you. Daughters are very special. I have two myself. πŸ˜‰

  3. Hope you’re doing well especially in this season. Your sticky sesame cauliflower dish is very mouth-watering! It reminds me of restaurant-style flavor combinations with the variety of ingredients in your recipe, and it certainly reflects your passion for cooking. Take care! πŸ™‚

    • Thanks. I’m quarantined in my home and have been since last year. It’s a terrible situation here and I’m told there’s going to be a third wave soon. I don’t know what’s going to happen to this world. You take care too. πŸ™‚

      • Oh dear, I hope that everything will recover soon and that there won’t be more waves. The cases have increased here too. Everyone is staying at home now as we’ve entered a heightened alert phase. Praying for healing and safety for the world. Keeping you and your family in my prayers πŸ’–

  4. Sweet Padma, how are you feeling, my friend? It makes me sad to hear that you have been feeling unwell. Know that I have been thinking of you and praying for you. You are so precious and I value you! β™₯

    I love that you cut out the excess oil in this recipe. This looks like another one of yours we must try in our home! YUM! Cauliflower and broccoli pack a big health punch too…so many great nutrients. The orange zest is just the right tanginess and sweetness. So glad you shared this! It looks incredible, and as you say, it’s a great healthy alternative!

    Endless love, hugs, and blessings coming your way. Know that you are thought of! β™₯

    • Hi Holly. I’m so glad you liked this recipe and will try it out. I hope you enjoy it.

      As always, it’s lovely to hear from you. I need a knee replacement surgery and I have a lot of pain if I stand for too long. That’s the reason why I haven’t been blogging too much.

      Sending you prayers of love and blessings. The whole world is in a turmoil and it needs all the love and prayers of hope and healing. I hope that you and your family are safe. Thank you for all your love – I value you too and you are so very dear to me. ❀

Leave a comment